Excuse me ladies…

Is what I said to these dolls when I needed to look up their skirts…

In my defence, I was checking how they fixed and making sure they were in good enough condition for me to pick them up. That’s the best part of my job, getting hands on with the objects.

Today I measured and took photos of these three dolls. This is in preparation for them being loaned to other museums. These dolls were made by inmates of the Thursford Workhouse around 1900 and depict a nurse, an elderly woman and a child inmate. Workhouse objects are very few and far between which is why we are very proud of these three dolls and are delighted that two of them will be part of other exhibitions.

I only realised today that one of them doesn’t have any legs! (Go on guess, which one?)

Lauren, Curatorial Assistant

Leave a Reply

