Steaming up with Heritage Engineering!

Hello I am Jason Skipper, Skills for the Future Heritage Engineering Trainee here at Gressenhall. I used to be long term unemployed since Crane Fruehauf went under so I came to the museum to see if they needed any volunteers. To my surprise this lottery funded job was being advertised so I jumped at it! I knew nothing about steam before I started here, now I have a certificate and the experience to run and maintain steam plants.

DSC00830

I have been working at North Norfolk Railway, learning how to maintain steam locos. The men in the workshop there have a world of knowledge and I learnt so much in the short time I was there.

DSC00801

DSC00812

 

 

 

 

I even drove Little Barford loco at Weeting steam rally for the whole weekend! That was the highlight of last year for me and I’ve been asked back next year. I hope I will be doing it for many years to come.

DSC00901

I have also been on visits to many museums like the Lydia Eva steam drifter at Great Yarmouth, Museum of East Anglian Life at Stowmarket, Kew Bridge London, Kempton Park Pumping Station and Steam Museum London and I have learnt so much from them. I have also been helping to install a lineshaft at Forncett museum but I will tell you about that in my next blog.

Thanks for reading my first ever blog, Jason.

Leave a Reply

