Ghosts, The Stoat and The Triceratops

The last few months working as the Heritage Learning Trainee at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse have provided me with a great number of exciting, useful and colourful experiences.

Image

The Skills for the Future programme has provided me with the opportunity to enrol in a number of educational courses and to attend numerous training days. I am working towards a PTLLS (Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector) qualification and a Forest School qualification. Both of these courses are helping me to gain a better understanding of different educational practices and philosophies.

Image

Image

I have delivered sessions to visiting school pupils and engaged in live interpretation, to bring the educational ideas to life.

I have spent time at other museum sites such as Time and Tide, The Castle Museum, Denny Abbey, Kings Lynn Museum, The Museum of East Anglian Life, Dragon Hall, Strangers Hall and observed aspects of their formal and informal learning programmes. I have attended training days organised by Share Museums East on Preparing for the new Primary Curriculum and an Introduction to Museums course. Other training days I have attended include Hedge laying, Windmill restoration and ploughing with horses.

Image

Image

Image

Working with Gressenhall’s Learning Department I have gained further insight into the structuring of both public and school events. Using the whole of our diverse site to create events, which captivate students and visitors through the choice of setting as well as the content being delivered.

Image

There have been lots of exciting events, which I have been involved in; I played The Hatter at our Alice at Gressenhall themed Family day, The Butler at the Victorian Mystery day at Kings Lynn Town Hall,  I taught coin striking at the Medieval event. Alongside my fellow trainee Miriam I helped to organise our Halloween event, Ghostly Gressenhall.  This was a successful event and it was wonderful to see the Workhouse transformed into a place of candlelight and shadows. Our costumed visitors were entertained with games, art activities, ghostly tales from Neil Scarlett and a beautiful shadow puppet show from Ripstop Theatre.

Image

Image

Next to come there are our Victorian Christmas events for schools. These are followed by an event for the public, Victorian Family Christmas on the 15th of December, for which I am designing a photographic emporium for our visitors to dress up and pose for a portrait in.

My traineeship continues to swing between the serious and the surreal and it has been very enjoyable.

Thank you to everyone I have met for your support and advice.

Gawain Godwin

Heritage Learning Trainee

Leave a Reply

