New Year Collections Update

Firstly, let me begin with a Happy New Year to you all, and I hope you had a brilliant Christmas!

Before I left for the Christmas break I had been keeping busy with designing for our up coming temporary exhibition.  When creating an exhibition, so much goes into the planning stages: object inventories, research, design work, text writing and much more.  This all needs to be planned and implemented before the big day; where we install the exhibition ready for the public!

So it really has been a busy time trying to make sure everything is going smoothly, but my fellow collections trainees and I have been working hard and can’t wait for our ideas to be shown to the public for them to enjoy!

To help us along with our collections work and give us ideas about our own exhibition, I have been going on many SHARE courses which have been a brilliant help!  One in particular was a mounting and pinning workshop at NorwichCastle with the display team.  The course gave me a brilliant understanding of the work the display team do.  We were also given practical lessons on how to create a display board with fabric and how to pin on objects.  From this course I have been able to take on board how to do this and will hopefully be able to do my own mounting and pinning for our exhibition!

Putting the pins into the board is not an easy job!

Putting the pins into the board is not an easy job!

The finished object pinned on, minus the tape!

The finished object pinned on, minus the tape

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s not been all work however, and a group of staff from various departments prepared a surprise Christmas pantomime for the volunteers as a huge thank you for the hard work they put in at Gressenhall!

It was brilliant fun to be able to take part in the pantomime but also great to see the huge amount of volunteers who help and be able to give something back to them.  I played the part of Farmer 2 and put on my best Norfolk accent which ended up having hints of the Welsh accent mixed into it!

My fellow collections trainees and I ready to take part in Jack and the Beanstalk.

My fellow collections trainees and I ready to take part in Jack and the Beanstalk.

Thank you for reading and in my next blog I will give an update on the progress of the exhibition!

Poppy Hill, Collections Management Trainee 

Leave a Reply

