My Story So Far at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse

Hi my name’s Sonny and I am a Heritage Gardening Trainee at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse. I’ve been here since February 20th 2014 so nearly five months which have gone ever so quickly. I spend two days a week at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse helping the volunteer gardeners keep the gardens as well looked after as we can. We have made great progress in maintaining the gardens in the short time I’ve been here.

 
I spend another day on placement being Peckover gardens in Wisbech where I’ve learned a lot about plants and all manner of horticulture. I have just finished my placement at Peckover and am now going to Holkham Hall to work in the walled gardens there, and hopefully the woodland if I’m lucky, so I can use my chainsaw certificate that I gained through my traineeship here at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse.

 
So far I have done several courses from box hedge pruning to scything at Gressenhall and Hickling on the Broads which was great fun and I would love to take it further. I’m also studying an RHS qualification through Gressenhall’s traineeship and am doing a NVQ2 in horticulture at college as well. I’m hoping to learn as much as I can and get on as many courses as I can in the year I’m on this traineeship and enjoy the experiences I have along the way.

Intently observing the demonstration

Intently observing the demonstration

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The team expertly wielding their scythes

Sonny Brown

Heritage Gardening Trainee

Leave a Reply

