Coming to an end at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse

Hi, my name’s Sonny and I am a Heritage Gardening Trainee at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse, as some of you may know from my previous blog. I’ve been here since February 20th 2014 so now coming up to the last 3 months of my traineeship, which has gone by pretty quickly.

I spend two days a week at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse where me and Sam have been working really hard on the farmhouse garden, and the garden has been flowering and flowering and flowering which is great to see.

IMG_0924

I’ve been at Holkham on placement for the second half of my traineeship, which I have really enjoyed. I have had lots of opportunities in the woodland, crosscutting wood and also got to fell some trees, which were all great fun. I also went on a tree marking and pruning course at Holkham where I learned about continuous cover forestry and why it’s so important to manage our woodland for the future prosperity of the Woodland. I’ve also been working in the walled garden where we got to work on the vegetable garden. I also got the opportunity to pick fresh vegetables from the garden, wash and prep them for Lord and Lady Coke and for hunting parties at the weekend.

I have done several more courses since my last blog from chipper and brush cutter training to hedge laying courses at Gressenhall, which were a great learning experience.

IMG_0935

It’s been a good 9 months and I have gained many of the skills and qualifications I will need to get a job in the heritage garden setting when I finish my traineeship in February.

Sonny Brown
Heritage Gardening Trainee

2 thoughts on “Coming to an end at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse

Leave a Reply

