A Gardener’s Goodbye

Hi everyone this is my final blog as a Trainee Heritage Gardener at Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse. I am leaving and going straight into a job which is great. Through doing this traineeship I have gained the necessary skills to be more employable which has lead to me having a choice of two jobs. So I am now joining a tree surgeon and am going to gain a level 2 NVQ in trees and timber and gain some tree related qualifications. I really enjoyed working in the woods at Holkham and learning about trees and shrubs throughout my traineeship that I think I will learn a lot from this new experience.

Making handmade plant supports was one of many new skills learned on training days.

Making handmade plant supports was one of many new skills learned on training days.

My future goals are to continue to learn and train as I am still young. And to start my own business as a professional horticulturist/arboriculturist in a couple of years and work in people’s gardens.

The garden in the summer after our hard work, with the plant supports in their new home

The garden in the summer after our hard work, with the plant supports in their new home

It’s been a great twelve months, which I am very happy to have been given the opportunity to do.

The team posing with our newly made plant supports

The team posing with our newly made plant supports

Sonny Brown

Heritage Gardening Trainee

Leave a Reply

